Feb 29, 2020  
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog 
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Decision Sciences and Management

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Organization and Programs of Study

Professor Armstrong, Chairperson; Chairs of Excellence Guimaraes (J.E. Owen Chair of Excellence in Management Information Systems), Reimann (W. Eugene Mayberry Chair of Excellence in Quality and Technology Management); Professors Bell (President), Miller, Natarajan (W. Eugene Mayberry Professor of Management), Timmerman, Wells; Associate Professors Barger, Huguenard, Jones, Matson, Pineda; Assistant Professor Ballou

The department offers the Business Management major with a choice of four options: General Management (BUMA); Human Resource Management (BUHR); Production/Operations Management (BUPR); and Management Information Systems (BUIN).

The General Management option is designed for the student desiring broad managerial expertise and curriculum exposure to a variety of business areas. This program is characterized by an emphasis on advanced organizational management skills.

The Human Resource Management option prepares students for career opportunities in human resource management in both the public and private sector. The curriculum focuses on conflict management and negotiations, leadership and employee development, compensation administration, and employment practices.

The Production/Operations Management option is designed to prepare graduates for careers in effective operations management, with a focus on analytically based decision making and the improvement of quality and productivity. Characteristic of this option is the emphasis on the management of the resources, processes, and technologies used to create goods and services in both manufacturing and non-manufacturing environments.

The Management Information Systems option is designed to prepare students for various careers in the area of business information systems. The curriculum is characterized by an emphasis on analytical methods for business problem solving, information technology applications, and business systems design and implementation.

In addition to offering the four options of study, a primary mission of the department is to provide a significant amount of the core coursework in organizational behavior, analytical methods, management information  systems, operations management, and business strategy, to support other undergraduate majors offered in the College of Business, as well as the graduate program in business.

The department houses two distinguished professorships in the state’s program of chairs of excellence allowing universities to attract eminent faculty and individuals of national and international prominence as chairholders. In the department is the J.E. Owen Chair of Excellence in Management Information Systems held by Dr. Tor Guimaraes, a scholar of international distinction. In addition, the department has the W. Eugene Mayberry Chair of Excellence in Quality and Technology Management held by Dr. Curt Reimann, senior scientist emeritus of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and retired director of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. This distinguished position is named in honor of Dr. W. Eugene Mayberry, retired chairman of the board of governors of the Mayo Clinic.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Organization and Programs of Study